About the Library

Library Staff

Main Desk
Hartnell College Library (831)755-6872

Reference Desk
Reference Librarians (831)759-6078
reference@hartnell.edu

Library Administrative Assistant
Delia Edeza (831)755-6916
dedeza@hartnell.edu

Dean of Academic Affairs, LLS&R
Kathy Mendelsohn
kmendelsohn@hartnell.edu

Head Librarian
Peggy Mayfield (831)755-6898
mmayfield@hartnell.edu

Student Services Librarian
Cynthia Ainsworth (831)759-6063
cainsworth@hartnell.edu

Systems/Technology Librarian
Deborah Stephens (831)759-6064
dstephens@hartnell.edu

Circulation Desk
Tony Wilson (831)755-6872
twilson@hartnell.edu

Mezairah Marquez Niduaza (831)755-6872
mniduaza@hartnell.edu

Ramon Serrano (831)755-6872
rserrano@hartnell.edu

Media Center
Babak Ghavamian (831)759-6091
bghavamian@hartnell.edu

Gabriel Isaac Hernandez (831)759-6091
ghernandez@hartnell.edu

Library & Instructional Services Buyer
Lolinda Velazquez (831)755-6873
lvelazqu@hartnell.edu

Library Services Specialist
Betty Rivera (831)759-6015, FAX: 759-6084
brivera@hartnell.edu

 

The 68,000 square foot state-of-the-art Library and Learning Resource Center, opened June 2006, is designed to meet the information and research needs of students in the 21st century. Featuring a unique building design that is innovative, yet functional, flexible, and timeless, the library is the hub of campus information and learning technologies. The two-floor facility houses traditional college library resources and services including Circulation Services, Computer and Media Services, Reference Services, Technical Services, and an Information Competency Center. Computers throughout the library offer access to the Internet, common office applications, and the library's online resources. The library subscribes to more than two dozen electronic databases that provide full-text articles in magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference sources to assist students and faculty with their research needs from on- or off-campus.

Public seating in the library is available for more than 750 users. The library's book collection consists of approximately 60,000 volumes. The online catalog lists all the books, periodicals, videos, and other media contained in the library's collection. Books are arranged by the Library of Congress Classification System. The reference collection is located near Reference Services. Periodicals and newspapers comprise an integral part of the library's collection. The library subscribes to about 300 periodicals. Through memberships in the library networks of OCLC and the Monterey Bay Area Cooperative Library System (MOBAC), the Hartnell library staff can locate materials in other libraries and provide interlibrary loan services.

The O.P. Silliman Memorial Library collection includes volumes relating to ornithology and the natural history of the Pacific coast. Access for researchers is by appointment.