> Home > Engineering > EGN8

Hartnell Enginering logo Hartnell Merrill Hall
Welcome to Engineering at Hartnell College
EGN8.   Engineering Statics (3)
Prerequisite: PHY-4A, MAT-3B
Lec 3 Hrs
Lecture: Monday/Wednesday/Friday 10:00 10:50AM, N8
Semesters offered: Fall 2014
Instructor: Dr. Melissa Hornstein
SI:
SI hours:
Syllabus
Textbook:
Meriam Kraige 6ed Textbook
A first course in engineering mechanics: properties of forces, moments, couples and resultants; two- and three-dimensional force systems acting on engineering structures in equilibrium; analysis of trusses, and beams; distributed forces, shear and bending moment diagrams, center of gravity, centroids, friction, and area and mass moments of inertia. Optional additional topics include fluid statics, cables, Mohr's circle and virtual work.

Statics blackboard

Week Date Class material* Homework**
1 Monday, August 19, 2013 Review of syllabus
Chapter 1: Introduction to Statics
  • 1/1: Mechanics
  • 1/2: Basic Concepts
  • 1/3: Scalars and Vectors
  • 1/4: Newton's Laws
  • 1/5: Units
  • 1/6: Law of Gravitation
  • 1/7: Accuracy, Limits, and Approximations
  • 1/8: Problem Solving in Statics
  • Update email address on PAWS.
  • Acquire a copy of the textbook.
  • Read Chapter 1.
  • Do problems 1/1-1/8.
  • Statics hasn't changed much in the last 150 years. Try reading this book while waiting for your text to arrive.
Wednesday, August 21, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
  • 2/1: Introduction
  • 2/2: Force
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/3: Rectangular Components
  • Read Chapter 2/1-2/3.
  • Do problems 2/1-2/26.
Friday, August 23, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/3: Rectangular Components
  • 2/4: Moment
2 Monday, August 26, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/4: Moment
Wednesday, August 28, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/4: Moment
Friday, August 30, 2013 Quiz
Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/4: Moment
3 Monday, September 2, 2013 No class - Labor Day
Wednesday, September 4, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/4: Moment
Friday, September 6, 2013 Quiz
Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/4: Moment
  • 2/5: Couple
  • Read Chapter 2/5.
  • Do problems 2/57-2/64.
4 Monday, September 9, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/5: Couple
  • Read Chapter 2/5.
  • Do problems 2/65-2/76.
Wednesday, September 11, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/5: Couple
Friday, September 13, 2013 Quiz
5 Monday, September 16, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/6: Resultants
  • Read Chapter 2/6.
  • Do problems 2/77-2/98.
Wednesday, September 18, 2013 Chapter 2: Force Systems
Section A: Two-Dimensional Force Systems
  • 2/6: Resultants
Friday, September 20, 2013 Quiz
6 Monday, September 23, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section A: Equilibrium in Two Dimensions
  • 3/2: System Isolation and the Free-Body Diagram
  • 3/3: Equilibrium Conditions
Wednesday, September 25, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section A: Equilibrium in Two Dimensions
  • 3/2: System Isolation and the Free-Body Diagram
  • 3/3: Equilibrium Conditions
Friday, September 27, 2013 Quiz
7 Monday, September 30, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section A: Equilibrium in Two Dimensions
  • 3/2: System Isolation and the Free-Body Diagram
  • 3/3: Equilibrium Conditions
Wednesday, October 2, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section A: Equilibrium in Two Dimensions
  • 3/2: System Isolation and the Free-Body Diagram
  • 3/3: Equilibrium Conditions
Friday, October 4, 2013 Quiz
8 Monday, October 7, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section A: Equilibrium in Two Dimensions
  • 3/2: System Isolation and the Free-Body Diagram
  • 3/3: Equilibrium Conditions
Wednesday, October 9, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section B: Equilibrium in Three Dimensions
  • 3/4: Equilibrium Conditions
Friday, October 11, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section B: Equilibrium in Three Dimensions
  • 3/4: Equilibrium Conditions
9 Monday, October 14, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section B: Equilibrium in Three Dimensions
  • 3/4: Equilibrium Conditions
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 Chapter 3: Equilibrium
Section B: Equilibrium in Three Dimensions
  • 3/4: Equilibrium Conditions
Friday, October 18, 2013 Quiz
10 Monday, October 21, 2013 Chapter 4: Structures
  • 4/1: Introduction
  • 4/2: Plane Trusses
  • 4/3: Method of Joints
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 Chapter 4: Structures
  • 4/3: Method of Joints
  • Take-home quiz due Monday
Friday, October 25, 2013 Class cancelled - Engineering Liaison Council meeting
Take home quiz due Monday
11 Monday, October 28, 2013 Chapter 4: Structures
  • 4/3: Method of Joints
Wednesday, October 30, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/3: Method of Joints
Friday, November 1, 2013 Quiz
12 Monday, November 4, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/3: Method of Joints
Wednesday, November 6, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/3: Method of Joints
Friday, November 8, 2013 Quiz
13 Monday, November 11, 2013 No class - Veteran's Day
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/4: Method of Sections
Friday, November 15, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/4: Method of Sections
14 Monday, November 18, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/4: Method of Sections
Wednesday, November 20, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/4: Method of Sections
Friday, November 22, 2013 Quiz
15 Monday, November 25, 2013 No class
Wednesday, November 27, 2013 Chapter 4 :Structures
  • 4/6: Frames and Machines
Friday, November 29, 2013 No class - Day after Thanksgiving
16 Monday, December 2, 2013 Chapter 5: Distributed Forces
  • 5/1: Introduction
  • 5/2: Center of Mass
  • 5/3: Centroids of Lines, Areas, and Volumes
Wednesday, December 4, 2013 Chapter 5: Distributed Forces
  • 5/1: Introduction
  • 5/2: Center of Mass
  • 5/3: Centroids of Lines, Areas, and Volumes
  • 5/4: Composite Bodies and Figures; Approximations
Friday, December 6, 2013 Chapter 5: Distributed Forces
  • 5/1: Introduction
  • 5/2: Center of Mass
  • 5/3: Centroids of Lines, Areas, and Volumes
  • 5/4: Composite Bodies and Figures; Approximations
17 Monday, December 9, 2013 Chapter 6: Friction
  • 6/1: Introduction
  • 6/2: Types of Friction
  • 6/3: Dry Friction
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 Chapter 6: Friction
  • 6/1: Introduction
  • 6/2: Types of Friction
  • 6/3: Dry Friction
Friday, December 13, 2013 Final exam: 8-11am, MER11
18 Monday, December 16, 2013 No class - Final exam week
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 No class - Final exam week
*This is only a tentative schedule which is subject to change as time progresses.
**Homework will be assigned on the date of the lecture.