Fees and Refunds


The current fee charged for all California residents is $46 per unit.  Please note that enrollment fees are determined by the California Legislature for all community colleges and are subject to change at any time. 

All students are required to pay their enrollment fees and any outstanding balances by the printed deadline dates or be dropped from all recently registered classes. 


Payment Deadlines

All students are required to pay their enrollment fees and any outstanding balances by the deadline or you will be dropped from all classes.    If you add classes after your initial registration, you must check your account balance and pay any additional fees before the next payment deadline or you will be dropped from all your classes, even those you registered for earlier.







Summer 2018 Payment Deadlines


classes between:




(VA & Dept. of Rehab)




March 12 -

April 5

March 8, 2018

April 3, 2018

Thursday, April 5

April 6 -

May 10

NApril 12, 2018

May 8, 2018

Thursday, May 10

May 11 -

June 7

May 10, 2018

June 5, , 2018

Thursday, June 7








*FAFSA is the Free Application for Federal Student Aid.  This form should be prepared annually by current and prospective college students to determine their eligibility for student financial aid.

**The Board of Governors (BOG) fee waiver program waives enrollment/tuition fees for eligible California residents for the current academic year. 

Veteran (VA) and Department of Rehabilitation Students must see the VA Representative or submit a Department of Rehabilitation voucher to the cashier’s office by the BOG deadline dates to ensure you will not be dropped for non-payment.



For all Enrollment and Non-Resident Tuition a reversal of enrollment or tuition shall be made in accordance with the schedule listed below for reduction in program or withdrawal from class(es). This process shall be initiated upon receipt of a Enrollment Fee Refund Request form to be submitted by the 4th week of classes to the Cashier's Office for classes dropped within the first two weeks of class. Class(es) must be dropped before requesting a refund. 

Full Semester Classes (16-to 18-week Classes)

  • A 100% refund is given upon withdrawal during the first two weeks of the semester. 
  • No refund or credit is given after withdrawal beyond the second week of the semester.

Summer and Short-Term Classes

The refund/reversal for short-term classes is based on the length of the class and the number of days per week the class meets. 

  • A 100% refund is given upon withdrawal by the 10% point. 
  • No refund is given after the withdrawal beyond the 10% point. 


    Class Meets

    100% Refund if Withdrawal

    5 Days a Week by the End of
    4-week session 2nd day of session
    6-week session 3rd day of session
    8-week session 4th day of session
    10-week session 1st wk of session

    Note: Classes meeting fewer weeks or fewer days per week will have shorter withdrawal periods based on their 10 percent point.

Cancelled Classses:

A full refund will be given for courses cancelled by Hartnell College provided a petition is submitted to the Cashier's Office within one week of cancellation. 

Refund requests require an audit of records to determine the student's balance. Credit balances may be applied or carried forward to the new term in lieu of a refund. 

It's Your Responsibility To Drop Classes!

Dropping or withdrawing from a course is not an automatic process. It is the student's responsibility to drop the classes they are not attending. (It is NOT the faculty member's responsibility to drop you-It is your responsibility as an enrolled student.) If you do not drop a class, you will be charged for it, and you could receive an "F" grade that will remain on your permanent record.  Please follow this link to view the Attendance Policy.