> Home > News > Press_releases > 03_11_2009

Hartnell Faculty Awarded Tenure

March 11th, 2009

At the March 10, 2009, meeting of the Hartnell Community College District Board of Trustees, the board voted to accept the recommendation of the Tenure Committee and the President to grant tenure to the following faculty members:

Mary Cousineau, nursing; Barbara Durham, nursing; Alex Edens, biology; Debra Kaczmar, nursing; Nancy Shur, nursing, Andrew Vasher, basketball coach, health and physical education; and Janeen Whitmore, nursing.

The Board also approved that these first year faculty advance to the second year:  Ko Cooper, agriculture; Dr. Brooke Haag, physics; Sunita Lanka, English; Daniel Ortega, soccer coach, health and physical education; and Val Rodriquez, agriculture.

Finally, the Board approved that the following second year faculty advance to a third year contract:  Matt Collins, football coach, health and physical education; Dr. Steven Triano, agriculture; and Dr. Mary Young, nursing.

In congratulating the newly tenured faculty, Superintendent and President Dr. Phoebe Helm stated, “This is a significant accomplishment in your professional career and we join you in celebrating this milestone.”

Congratulations, faculty!