> Home > News > Press_releases > 06_07_2004

Hartnell College Recognizes Outstanding Faculty and Non-Teaching Staff

June 7th, 2004

More than 70 Hartnell College instructors and non-teaching staff members were recognized recently at the 18th annual Faculty and Staff Awards ceremony for their outstanding contributions to the 84-year-old college.

College President Edward Valeau commended the honorees for "their leadership, participation and dedication to Hartnell College. These hardworking faculty and staff members contribute so much to what makes our college an institution that is synonymous with excellence."

Two of the highest honors for outstanding efforts - the Gleason Awards - were presented to art instructor Gary Smith and Frank Henderson, coordinator of Hartnell's Tutorial Center.

Henderson, a member of the Hartnell staff for 17 years, oversees the Tutorial Center, which provides students with qualified student tutors in various academic areas. He also created the college's Supplemental Instruction Program - an academic support program that helps students enrolled in challenging courses.

Smith, who has been at Hartnell since 1976, teaches a variety of art classes and oversees the college's galleries. He also is adviser to the Hartnell Fine Arts Club and coordinator of the college's annual Studio Party Art Auction.

The Gleason awards are presented annually by the Hartnell College Foundation and were established by the late Roy and Phyllis Gleason of King City.

Outstanding Performance Awards were presented to four faculty members - Kelly Locke (math), Yoshiko Matsushita-Arao (psychology), Jennifer Lagier Fellguth (library science) and Dan Bequette (business).

Five non-teaching staff members also received Outstanding Performance Awards. They were Wini Chambliss, administrative assistant, Fine Arts, Language Arts and Social Sciences Division; Scott Johnson, community education coordinator, Workforce and Community Development Center; Patty McEfee, administrative assistant, Human Resources and Equal Employment Office; Lourdes Sanchez, secretary, Learning Skills Center; and Otis O'Neal, technican, Library Services.

Outstanding Manager Awards were presented to Charlene Frontiera, dean of the Sciences and Mathematics Division, and Sally Savage, director of Human Resources and Equal Employment Opportunity Office.

Outstanding Supervisor Awards were given to Edwin Baptista, maintenance operations supervisor, and Augustine Nevarez, director of the Americorps Program (which places Hartnell students in community service positions) and the Soledad Gear Up Program, which advocates college education to middle school and high school students in the Soledad area.

Also honored were five staff members who are retiring this summer. They are: Victor S. Krimsley, vice president of instruction and assistant superintendent, 32 years of service; Juan Oliverez, ethnic studies instructor, 23 years; Sally Savage, director of human resources and equal employment opportunity, 8 years; Keith Simmons, geology instructor, 17 years; and Marlene Tise, a member of the maintenance operations staff, 21 years.

For more information about the faculty and staff awards ceremony, call Cicely McCreight, executive director of Hartnell's Foundation, at (831) 755-6810.