## **GOVERNANCE RE-DESIGN**

In fall 2022, President Gutierrez formed an ad hoc task force to assess the current governance structure at Hartnell College, review the governance structure re-design presented in 2021/2022, and provide recommendations for a new governance model.

To guide the process, the following questions were guiding principles for the task force:

- Can governance at Hartnell College be more EFFICIENT?
- Can governance at Hartnell College better support GUIDED PATHWAYS?
- Can governance at Hartnell College be more REPRESENTATIVE?

After the creation of various approaches and models, a new governance structure has been proposed.

## In this structure:

- College Planning Council becomes the Hartnell College Council
  - (Sub-committee: Accreditation Committee).
- Four councils will oversee key areas of campus governance, to include:
  - Equity Assurance (Sub-committees: EEO/Diversity and Professional Development Committee).
  - Institutional Resources (Sub-committees: Advancement Council and Safety Committee).
  - Student Success (Sub-committees: Advisory Research Group, Strategic Enrollment Management).
  - Technology Learning Support.
- Following protocols of AP 2510, council recommendations will normally be accepted by the superintendent/president. Only in exceptional circumstances and for compelling reasons will a recommendation not be accepted. If a recommendation is not accepted the superintendent/president shall promptly communicate the reason to the appropriate council in writing.

- The current Administrative Services Committee and Facilities Committee will no longer be separate committees, with duties and oversight now part of the Institutional Resources Council.
- The current Academic Affairs Council and Student Affairs Council will no longer be separate councils, with shared duties and oversight now part of the Student Success Council. (This aligns with updates to accreditation standards of "Student Success").
- The current Online Services Committee and Technology Development Council will no longer be separate committees/councils, with shared duties and oversight now part of Technology Learning Support Council.
- Any council retains the right to form ad hoc committees, as needed, for special circumstances or situations. Ad hoc committees are at the discretion of each council, based on a majority vote from the council membership. Ad hoc committees should exist of existing council members.
- All councils have tri-chairs (one administrator, one staff, one faculty) who will determine the agenda for each council and oversee meetings.
- All councils have membership reflecting equal representation between administrators, staff and faculty. Council members recommended include those with the greatest expertise from each group. Final membership of each council will be determined by each constituent group (administrator, staff, and faculty). Unless designated to a council by de facto role (College Superintendent/President, CSEA President, Academic Senate President, etc.), and absent constituency group criteria for member selection/eligibility (e.g. bylaws, collective bargaining agreement), it is recommended that members should be elected by their constituent group via a democratic and transparent election process.
- All councils have student representation, one from each Meta Major (five students per council). *All student members will receive a stipend for their service*.
- · All council sub-committees should align handbooks to include representation from all four groups (administrators, staff, faculty and students).
- Academic Senate standing committees remain the same (Curriculum Committee, D.E. Committee, Faculty Professional Development Committee, Full-Time Faculty Hiring Committee, Program Planning Outcomes & Assessment (formerly Outcomes & Assessment), and the Student Success and Equity Committee (formerly Student Success Committee).

Membership of all councils and sub-committees is open to all District campuses and centers, and participation from all campuses and centers should be robustly pursued.

Constituent groups may assign alternates who fill in for regular council members when needed. Alternates may vote on behalf of the regular member. Regular members or their alternates who are absent from two or more consecutive council meetings will be considered to hold an "abandoned seat." Abandoned seats will be referred to constituent groups to fill. If a constituent group fails to fill an abandoned seat in a timely manner, the seat may be filled by any employee or student belonging to that constituency at the College (regardless of established selection/eligibility criteria) for one semester."

- Unless specified in council and sub-committee by-laws, "faculty" indicates full-time or part-time faculty representation.
- All councils and sub-committees will reflect the District's values of diversity, equity and inclusion in practices, procedures and standards;
- All councils will follow agreed upon standards based on Robert's Rules of Order, with appropriate training provided by the District as needed.
- All councils will meet in a hybrid format (face-to-face w/an online option)
- For agenda items requiring a vote, 2/3 of quorum is required for an affirmative vote, with at least one vote in the affirmative from each of the constituents (administrator, staff and faculty).
- For initiatives and/or policies with District-wide implications, the Hartnell College Council must receive the first read to provide feedback, and should be the last read with approval after the appropriate stakeholders, councils, and committees have provided additional feedback.