The Curriculum Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Senate, as established through mutual agreement between the District and the Academic Senate. The purpose of the Curriculum Committee is to maintain the quality and integrity of educational programs offered at Hartnell College: courses and programs are evaluated for their educational content and their appropriateness and value to the students served. As delegated by the Academic Senate, the Curriculum Committee approves for recommendation to the Board of Trustees all new courses and programs and revisions to existing courses and programs in accordance with applicable laws and regulations governing California Community Colleges.

Committee Responsibilities
The functions and operating guidelines of the Curriculum Committee are determined by the Academic Senate and applicable sections of California Code of Regulations (Title 5) and the Education Code.

  • Review and recommend all new credit courses for approval to the Board of Trustees.
  • Review and recommend all new non-credit courses for approval to the Board of Trustees.
  • Review and recommend all new credit programs for approval by the Board of Trustees.
  • Recommend program and course revisions, course inactivation and deletion for approval by the Board of Trustees.
  • Recommend requirements for skills certificates and certificates of achievement.
  • Review and recommend prerequisites, co-requisites and advisories that are approved in a separate action from the course approval.
  • Ensure that credits (units) awarded are commensurate with hours required.
  • Ensure that each course delivered by distance learning is reviewed and the DE modality approved separately
  • Recommend submissions for the Hartnell College Associate Degree General Education patterns, CSU and IGETC in collaboration with the Articulation Officer
  • Serve as a resource for the catalog and class schedule.
  • Serve as a resource regarding curriculum issues for the college.
  • Ensure documentation of Curriculum Committee activities.
  • Ensure that all members of the Curriculum Committee are knowledgeable concerning State standards and requirements for curriculum review and approval.
  • Develop curriculum policies and procedures for recommendation to the Academic Senate.

The Curriculum Committee receives information from:

  • Faculty and administrators through the academic disciplines or areas
  • Hartnell College Academic Senate
  • Hartnell College Academic Affairs Council
  • California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office
  • Academic Senate for California Community Colleges

The Curriculum Committee makes recommendations to:

  • Hartnell College Academic Senate
  • Hartnell College Academic Affairs Council
  • Hartnell College Student Affairs Council
  • Hartnell College Board of Trustees

Curriculum Committee Membership (and terms of service):

  • Faculty chairperson (elected by the committee for a 2-year term)
  • Vice President of Academic Affairs or designee
  • 2 Deans of Academic Affairs (2-year term, selected by the VP of Academic Affairs)
  • A combination of at least 9 faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate to represent each academic area:
  • Math/Science/Engineering
  • Languages and Fine Arts
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Advanced Technology & Applied Science
  • PE/Athletics/HED
  • Nursing/Allied Health
  • Library
  • Counseling and Categorical Programs
  • Articulation Officer (Permanent)
  • SLO Coordinator or designee
  • Dean of Student Affairs, Enrollment Services (Permanent)
  • (Ex Officio) Student appointed by Student Senate

Faculty appointed by the Academic Senate will normally serve a term of three years with one third of the positions eligible for replacement each year. Members may be elected to additional successive terms.

The Curriculum Committee meets on the first and third Thursday of each month from 2:00-4:00 p.m. during the academic year. Additional meetings may be called when necessary. The committee normally follows Robert’s Rules of Order (latest revision) as a protocol for decision-making. Fifty percent of the membership constitutes a quorum.