Welcome to the Hartnell College Academic Senate website.  

The Academic Senate is the voice of the Hartnell College faculty in all academic and professional matters as defined in Title 5 and Education Code. The list of academic and professional matters is sometimes called the 10+1
They are:

  1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  2. Degree and certificate requirements
  3. Grading policies
  4. Educational program development
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. Processes for program review
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development 
  11. Other academic and professional matters as are mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

The Senate meets from 3-5 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month in E-112 during the academic year. There is also a link for guests to attend remotely. The Steering Committee (officers) meets from 3-5 p.m. on the first and third Tuesdays to plan the upcoming meeting and create the agenda. 

Contact us at senatepresident@hartnell.edu.

  • Kelly Locke, President
  • Jennifer Moorhouse, First Vice President
  • Vacant, Second Vice President
  • Heather Rodriguez, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Vacant, Member At Large